The Presidential Museum and Library is the primary office within the Office of the President responsible for preserving, managing, and promoting the history and heritage of the Philippine Presidency, and particularly of Malacañan Palace as its official seat. It is the principal historical and artistic repository in support of the institution of the Presidency and for the benefit of the Republic and the Filipino people.

It exercises primary curatorial, conservation, preservation, custodial, and advisory responsibilities over structures, and facilitates the conduct of tours of designated areas within the Palace.

It was created in 2004 with the implementation of Executive Order No. 366, issued by President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, which merged the Presidential Museum and the Malacañang Library into one office as the Malacañang Museum. The collections of both offices were integrated and housed in Kalayaan Hall, while others were placed in off-site storage facilities.

In 2010, Executive Order No. 880 was issued, placing the Malacañang Museum under the supervision of the National Museum for museological and related policy purposes. Later on, Executive Order No. 4, promulgated by President Benigno S. Aquino III, placed the Malacañang Museum under the supervision and control of the Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office. The issuance likewise renamed the Malacañang Museum as the Presidential Museum and Library.

  • Blue Dogs

    Thank you very much for the historic information!