Elections of 1969

Riding high on the success of his first term as president, Ferdinand E. Marcos was chosen to be the standard- bearer of the Nacionalista Party. Vice President Fernando Lopez also clinched the administration party’s nomination. The Marcos- Lopez powerhouse ticket would face the Liberal Party’s Senators Sergio Osmeña Jr. and Genaro Magsaysay. Osmeña, the son continue reading : Elections of 1969

Elections of 1961

While all seemed rosy for the ruling Nacionalistas following the 1959 midterm polls, the run-up to the general election of 1961 was fractious for the party. Infighting and loyalty checks resulted in the expulsion of several high-profile members including Emmanuel Pelaez and Sergio “Serging” Osmeña Jr. for being critical of the administration. The intraparty conflict continue reading : Elections of 1961

Elections of 1957

Carlos P. Garcia succeeded to the presidency on March 18, 1957, following the untimely death of President Magsaysay in a plane crash. Only a few months before Magsaysay’s expected re-election, Garcia had secured the NP’s nomination for the presidency with Speaker Jose B. Laurel Jr, as his running mate—but not everyone was convinced the career continue reading : Elections of 1957

Elections of 1949

Upon the death of President Roxas in 1948, Vice President Elpidio Quirino assumed the presidency. Prior to his sudden demise, Roxas had been reported to favor another stalwart from northern Luzon, Senator Quintin Paredes, to be his running mate in 1949. Quirino’s place as standard-bearer of the LP did not sit well with a wing continue reading : Elections of 1949

Elections of 1946

In 1944, Sergio Osmeña returned to the Philippines, president of a country devastated by war and on the verge of independence. He had assumed the office upon the death of Quezon on August 1, 1944, and in 1946 decided to run for the presidency. Osmeña was unperturbed by the challenge posed by erstwhile protégé Senate continue reading : Elections of 1946

Elections of 1941

Up for re-election in 1940, the Nacionalista Party leaders seemed unbeatable at the polls. Meanwhile, the opposition was in disarray. Having been soundly defeated in legislative elections three years prior, some of the most prominent oppositionist leaders like Pedro Abad Santos and Manuel de la Fuente of the Partido Nacional Democrata endorsed both Quezon and continue reading : Elections of 1941

Elections of 1935

By virtue of the Tydings-McDuffie or Philippine Independence Act of 1934, the Commonwealth of the Philippines was established, creating with it the position of president and vice president and a unicameral legislature called the National Assembly. It also mandated the Philippine Legislature to call for an election of delegates to a Constitutional Convention to draft continue reading : Elections of 1935

Philippine Elections by the numbers

The Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office (PCDSPO) has published the Philippine Electoral Almanac, a handy resource on Philippine national elections from 1935 onwards.