Elections of 2016

The Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office (PCDSPO) has published the Philippine Electoral Almanac, a handy resource on Philippine national elections from 1935 onwards.

Elections of 2004

Facing recurrent challenges to her legitimacy as President, the elections of 2004 was the chance Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo had to win the presidency in her own right. Despite a public statement that she would not seek re-election, she assembled a formidable coalition—K-4—led by her adoptive party Lakas-CMD and parties that were in opposition to the Estrada continue reading : Elections of 2004

Elections of 1998

Attempts of President Ramos to amend the Constitution and establish a unicameral, parliamentary system of government was met with stiff, multisectoral opposition. His charter change initiatives appeared to heavily favor his chosen successor—Speaker Jose de Venecia Jr., an expert coalition-builder in the House of Representatives. Failing to amend the charter, the second presidential elections under continue reading : Elections of 1998

Elections of 1992

For the first time, the Philippines had a presidential election under the multiparty system, as opposed to the two-party system which had been in place since 1935. Seven candidates contested the first presidential election following the restoration of democracy in 1986. President Corazon C. Aquino had chosen Defense Secretary Fidel V. Ramos of the newly continue reading : Elections of 1992