“Defend it at Plaza Miranda”: A History of the Country’s Foremost Public Square

  Manila, the seat of colonial political power in the Philippines, spawned 16 geographical districts—known asarabales, or suburbs—mostly drawn up during the colonial period. One of the busiest and most important of these arabales is Quiapo, situated north of the Pasig River. Originally a residential area for Manileños with means, the district evolved to become continue reading : “Defend it at Plaza Miranda”: A History of the Country’s Foremost Public Square

Elections of 1965

The Macapagal administration had been wracked with defections in the run-up to the 1965 polls—the most prominent being Senate President Marcos, who had bolted the LP to join the NP. Vice President Pelaez, despite having been earlier booted out of the NP, had also quit the ruling LP and returned to the NP. Both Marcos continue reading : Elections of 1965

Elections of 1969

Riding high on the success of his first term as president, Ferdinand E. Marcos was chosen to be the standard- bearer of the Nacionalista Party. Vice President Fernando Lopez also clinched the administration party’s nomination. The Marcos- Lopez powerhouse ticket would face the Liberal Party’s Senators Sergio Osmeña Jr. and Genaro Magsaysay. Osmeña, the son continue reading : Elections of 1969

Elections of 1961

While all seemed rosy for the ruling Nacionalistas following the 1959 midterm polls, the run-up to the general election of 1961 was fractious for the party. Infighting and loyalty checks resulted in the expulsion of several high-profile members including Emmanuel Pelaez and Sergio “Serging” Osmeña Jr. for being critical of the administration. The intraparty conflict continue reading : Elections of 1961

Elections of 1957

Carlos P. Garcia succeeded to the presidency on March 18, 1957, following the untimely death of President Magsaysay in a plane crash. Only a few months before Magsaysay’s expected re-election, Garcia had secured the NP’s nomination for the presidency with Speaker Jose B. Laurel Jr, as his running mate—but not everyone was convinced the career continue reading : Elections of 1957

Elections of 1953

After seven years of LP rule, the Nacionalistas were raring to return to power but were without a viable presidential candidate. The most obvious choice, former President and now Senator Jose P. Laurel, had announced he was “spiritually tired” and would not seek the presidency. Laurel’s proposal was the adoption of Defense Secretary Ramon Magsaysay, continue reading : Elections of 1953

Elections of 1949

Upon the death of President Roxas in 1948, Vice President Elpidio Quirino assumed the presidency. Prior to his sudden demise, Roxas had been reported to favor another stalwart from northern Luzon, Senator Quintin Paredes, to be his running mate in 1949. Quirino’s place as standard-bearer of the LP did not sit well with a wing continue reading : Elections of 1949

Elections of 1946

In 1944, Sergio Osmeña returned to the Philippines, president of a country devastated by war and on the verge of independence. He had assumed the office upon the death of Quezon on August 1, 1944, and in 1946 decided to run for the presidency. Osmeña was unperturbed by the challenge posed by erstwhile protégé Senate continue reading : Elections of 1946