Jose P. Laurel
October 14, 1943-August 17, 1945


From 1941-1945, the national flag was flown upside-down to symbolize wartime.

National Coat of Arms and Seal



Country Data
Country Laws
Election Results

Era Third President of the Philippines
President of the Second Republic
Constitution 1943 Constitution
Predecessor Position established
Successor Position abolished
Date elected September 25, 1943 (elected by the KALIBAPI Assembly)
Inauguration October 14, 1943, Legislative Building (now National Museum), Manila (aged 51)
Seat of Government Manila (1943-1944)
Baguio (1944-1945)
Vice President None
Chief Justice Jose Yulo (February 5, 1942-August 1945)
Speaker of the National Assembly Benigno S. Aquino Sr. (October 17, 1943-February 2, 1944)
Previous Positions
Executive Bureaucracy: Clerk for the Bureau of Forestry (1909)
Bureaucracy: Undersecretary, Department of the Interior (1922); Secretary of the Interior (1923)
Cabinet: Commissioner of Justice (1942), Philippine Executive Commission
Cabinet: Commissioner, Department of Interior (1942)
Legislative Upper House: Senator of the 5th Senatorial District (Batangas, Mindoro, Tayabas, Cavite, and Marinduque) (1925-1931)
Upper House: Senator (1951-1957)
Judicial Associate Justice of the Supreme Court (1936-1941)
Others 2nd in the Philippine Bar Examination (1915)
Delegate, 1934 Constitutional Convention
President, 1943 Preparatory Committee on Philippine Independence
Chairman, 1954 Economic Mission to the United States
Founder, Lyceum of the Philippines
Worked under other Administrations QUEZON as Associate Justice
QUIRINO as Senator
MAGSAYSAY as Senator; Special Envoy (Laurel-Langley Agreement)
GARCIA as Senator
Personal Details
Born March 9, 1891
Tanauan, Batangas
Died November 6, 1959
Mandaluyong City
Resting Place Tanauan, Batangas
Political Parties Nacionalista Party (1925-1941)
Kapisanan ng Paglilingkod sa Bagong Pilipinas (KALIBAPI) (1943-1945)
Nacionalista Party (1945-1959)
Parents Sotero Laurel
Jacoba Garcia
Spouse Pacencia Hidalgo y Valencia (1889-1960) (m. 1911)
Children Jose Bayani Laurel Jr.
Jose Sotero Laurel III
Natividad Laurel-Guinto
Sotero Cosme Laurel
Mariano Antonio Laurel
Rosenda Placencia Laurel-Avanceña
Potenciana Laurel-Yupangco
Salvador Roman Laurel
Arsenio Laurel
Education Bachelor of Laws, University of the Philippines (1915)
Master of Laws, Escuela de Derecho (1919)
Doctor of Civil Laws, Yale University (1920)
Doctor of Philosophy, University of Santo Tomas (1936)
Honoris Causa, Tokyo Imperial University 東京帝國大 (1938)
Profession Lawyer
Academe College of Law, University of the Philippines
Philippine Law, Lacson College
Faculty of Law, University of Santo Tomas
National Law College, University of Manila
Institute of Law, Far Eastern University
College of Law, Central University
College of Law, Adamson University


(January 23, 1942-January 1944)

Chairman Jorge B. Vargas
Department of the Interior Benigno S. Aquino
Commissioner of the Interior
Department of Justice Jose P. Laurel
Commissioner of Justice
Antonio de las Alas
Commissioner of Justice
Department of Agriculture and Commerce Rafael Alunan
Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce
Department of Education, Health, and Public Welfare Claro M. Recto
Commissioner of Education, Health, and Public Welfare
Department of Public Works and Communications Quintin Paredes
Commissioner of Public Works and Communications
Chief Justice Jose Yulo
Executive Secretary Serafin Marabut
Auditor-General Teofilo Sison


(January 1944-February 1945)

Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources Rafael Alunan
Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
(October 14, 1943-March 20, 1945)
Ministry of Education Camilo Osias
Minister of Education
(October 14, 1943-August 17, 1945)
Ministry of Finance Antonio de las Alas
Minister of Finance
(October 14, 1943-March 20, 1945)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs Claro M. Recto
Minister of Foreign Affairs
(October 14, 1943-March 12, 1945)
Ministry of Health, Labor, and Public Welfare Juan Salcedo
Minister of Health, Labor, and Public Welfare
(March 20, 1945)
Emiliano Tria Tirona
Minister of Health, Labor, and Public Welfare
(October 14, 1943-March 1, 1944)
Ministry of Home Affairs Jose P. Laurel
Concurrent capacity
Ministry of Justice Teofilo Sison
Minister of Justice
(October 14, 1943-March 20, 1945)
Ministry of Public Works and Communications Jose Paez
Minister of Public Works and Communications
Quintin Paredes
Minister of Public Works and Communications
(October 14, 1943-March 20, 1945)
Executive Secretary Emilio Abello
Executive Secretary
Pedro Sabido
Executive Secretary
(December 30, 1943-August 14, 1944)
Head of Philippine Constabulary Guillermo Francisco
Head of Philippine Constabulary

Under construction

  • Population: 17.9 million (1944)
  • Number of Japanese Civilians in the Philippines: 30,000 (1939)
  • Number of Imperial Japanese infantry troops in the Philippines: 64,000 (1941)
  • Number of Imperial Japanese infantry troops in the Philippines: 268,000 (1945)
  • Total exports: no data (wartime)

Source: A.V.H. Hartendorp, History of Industry and Trade of the Philippines (Manila: American Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines Inc., 1958); National Statistics Office

Under Construction

The Second Republic of the Philippines

The 1943 Constitution was ratified by a popular convention of the KALIBAPI on September 7, 1943 and was signed and approved on September 9, 1943.

On October 14, 1943, the Japanese-sponsored Second Republic was inaugurated, with Jose. P. Laurel as President. This government followed the newly crafted Constitution and reverted the legislature back to a unicameral National Assembly.

54 of the 108 members of the National Assembly were elected representatives, 46 were provincial governors, and eight were city mayors. Elected representatives were to serve for three years, while the governors and mayors would be assemblymen as long as they occupied their posts

The National Assembly of the Second Republic would remain in existence until the arrival of the Allied Forces in 1944, which liberated the Philippines from the Imperial Japanese forces.

1949 Presidential Elections

Four years after his stint as President of the Second Republic, Jose P. Laurel was drafted by the Nacionalista Party to run against President Elpidio Quirino, a Liberal, who had assumed the Presidency upon the death of President Manuel Roxas in 1948. The Liberal Party was split between Quirino and former Senate President Jose Avelino.

1949 Vice Presidential Elections

1949 Legislative Elections

These infographics were published as part of the Philippine Electoral Almanac, a compendium and handy resource of Philippine national elections from 1935 onwards, by the Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office.