Emilio Aguinaldo
January 23, 1899 – March 23, 1901


During the Philippine Revolution, the national flag was flown upside-down to symbolize wartime.

National Seal and Coat of Arms

Election Results

Era: First President of the Philippines President of the First Republic
Constitution: 1899 Malolos Constitution
Preceded by: position established
Succeeded by: position abolished
Inauguration:  January 23, 1899, Barasoain Church, Malolos, Bulacan (aged 29)
Capital: Malolos, Bulacan
Vice President: None
Prime Minister: Apolinario Mabini (January 21-May 7, 1899); Pedro Paterno (May 7-November 13, 1899)
Chief Justice: None
Senate President: None
Speaker of the House: None

Previous Positions

Executive Local: Cabeza de Barangay, Binakayan, KawitProvincial: Capitan Municipal, Kawit National: President of the Revolutionary Government (Tejeros Convention) (March 22, 1897-November 1, 1897) National: President of the Biak-na-Bato Republic (November 2,1897-December 15, 1897) National: Head of the Dictatorial Government (May 24,1898 –June 22, 1898) National: President of the Revolutionary Government (June 23, 1898-January 22, 1899)
Legislative None
Judicial None
Others General, Philippine Revolutionary ArmyMember, Council of State (Quirino, Roxas, Magsaysay, Garcia, Macapagal administrations)

Personal Details

Born March 22, 1869 Kawit, Cavite
Died February 6, 1964 Veterans Memorial Hospital, Quezon City
Resting Place Aguinaldo Shrine, Kawit, Cavite
Political Parties Magdalo faction, Katipunan (1897) National Socialist Party (1935)
Spouse Hilaria del Rosario (died 1921); Maria Agoncillo (died 1963)
Children Carmen Aguinaldo Melencio Emilio Aguinaldo, Jr. Maria Aguinaldo Poblete Cristina Aguinaldo Suntay Miguel Aguinaldo
Alma Mater Bachelor of Arts, Colegio de San Juan de Letran (college preparatory)
Occupation Politician

Minister of Agriculture, Industry, and Commerce Leon Ma. Guerrero
Minister of Agriculture, Industry, and Commerce
(May 7, 1899-November 13, 1899)
Jose Alejandrino
Minister of Agriculture, Industry, and Commerce
(June 23, 1898-1899)
Department of Public Instruction Bernard Moses
Secretary of Public Instruction
(March 1900-December 31, 1902)
Aguedo Velarde
Secretary of Public Instruction
Department of Treasury Hugo Ilagan
Secretary of Treasury
(May 9, 1899-November 13, 1900)
Mariano Trias
Secretary of Treasury
(July 15, 1898-May 9, 1899)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs Apolinario Mabini
Minister of Foreign Affairs
(October 1, 1898-October 30, 1898)
Felipe Buencamino
Minister of Foreign Affairs
(Paterno cabinet)
Ministry of Interior Severino de las Alas
Minister of Interior
(May 7, 1899-November 13, 1899)
Teodoro Sandico
Minister of Interior
(January 21, 1899-May 7, 1899)
Ministry of War and Navy Mariano Trias
Minister of War and Navy
(May 7, 1899–November 13, 1899)
Emiliano Riego de Dios
Secretary of War
(March-November 1897)
Ministry of War and Public Works Baldomero Aguinaldo
Minister of War and Public Works
Ministry of Welfare
(Public Instruction, Public Works, Communications, Agriculture, Industry, and Commerce)
Gracio Gonzaga
Ministry of Welfare
(January 21, 1899-May 7, 1899)
Department of Public Works and Communications Maximo Paterno
Secretary of Public Works and Communications

1935 Presidential Elections
President Aguinaldo contested the 1935 Presidential election against then Senate President Manuel L. Quezon and Supreme Bishop Gregorio Aglipay, founder of the Iglesia Filipina Independiente. Quezon won the elections and became the First President of the Commonwealth of the Philippines.