Carlos P. Garcia
First term: March 18, 1957-December 30, 1957 (succeeded)
Second term: December 30, 1957-December 30, 1961 (elected)


National Coat of Arms

Presidential Seal


Country Data
Election Results

Era Eighth President of the Philippines
Fourth President of the Third Republic
Constitution Amended 1935 Constitution
Predecessor Ramon Magsaysay
Successor Diosdado Macapagal
Inauguration March 1, 1957, Malacañan Palace, Manila (aged 61)
December 30, 1957, Independence Grandstand, Manila (aged 62)
Capital Quezon City
Vice-President Diosdado Macapagal (December 30, 1957-December 30, 1961)
Chief Justice Ricardo M. Paras (April 2, 1951-February 17, 1961)
Senate President Eulogio Rodriguez (January 22, 1957-April 5, 1963)
Speaker of the House Daniel Z. Romualdez (January 27, 1958-December 30, 1961)

Previous Positions

Executive Bureaucracy: Member, Rehabilitation Commission
Provincial: Governor of Bohol (1933-1941)
Cabinet: Secretary of Foreign Affairs (1953-1957)
National: Vice-President of the Philippines (1953-1957)
Legislative Lower House: Representative, Lone District of Bohol (1925-1931)
Upper House: Senator (1945-1953)
Judicial None
Others President, 1971 Constitutional Convention
Military: Guerilla resistance leader

Personal Details

Born November 4, 1896
Talibon, Bohol
Died June 14, 1971
Quezon City
Resting Place Libingan ng mga Bayani, Taguig City
Political Parties Nacionalista Party
Parents Policronio Garcia
Ambrosia Polistico
Spouse Leonila Dimataga
Children Linda Garcia-Ocampos
Alma Mater Bachelor of Laws, Philippine Law School (1923)
Occupation Lawyer

Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Cesar Fortich
Secretary of Agriculture and Natural Resources
(March 3, 1960-December 1961)
Juan de G. Rodriguez
Secretary of Agriculture and Natural Resources
(April 12, 1956-August 1960)
Department of Education Jose E. Romero
Secretary of Education
(May 18, 1959-September 4, 1962)
Daniel Salcedo
Secretary of Education
(November 18, 1957-December 28, 1959)
Manuel Lim
Secretary of Education
(September 3, 1957-November 17, 1957)
Martin Aguilar Jr.
Secretary of Education
(March 29, 1957-September 2, 1957)
Department of Finance Dominador Aytona
Secretary of Finance
(January 24, 1960-December 29, 1961)
Department of Foreign Affairs Felixberto M. Serrano
Secretary of Foreign Affairs
(August 22, 1957-December 1961)
Carlos P. Garcia
Concurrent Secretary of Foreign Affairs
(March 10, 1954-August 1957)
Department of Health Elpidio Valencia
Secretary of Health
(July 15, 1958-December 31, 1961)
Paulino J. Garcia
Secretary of Health
(March 17, 1957-July 15, 1958)
Department of Justice Alejo R. Mabanag
Secretary of Justice
(May 18,1959-December 1961)
Enrique Fernandez
Secretary of Justice
(June 1959-July 1959)
Jesus G. Barrera
Secretary of Justice
(April 1958-June 1959)
Pedro T. Tuazon
Secretary of Justice
(March 10, 1954-March 1958)
Department of Labor Angel Castano
Secretary of Labor
(August 22, 1957)
Department of National Defense Alejo S. Santos
Secretary of National Defense
(May 18, 1959-December 30, 1961)
Jesus M. Vargas
Secretary of National Defense
(August 28, 1957-May 18, 1959)
Eulogio B. Balao
Secretary of National Defense
(March 17, 1957-August 28, 1957)
Department of Public Works, Transportation, and Communication Florencio Moreno
Secretary of Public Works, Transportation, and Communication
Department of Commerce and Industry Manuel Lim
Secretary of Commerce and Industry
(January 24, 1960-1962)
Pedro C. Hernaez
Secretary of Commerce and Industry
(April 10, 1959-1960)
Executive Office Natalio Castillo
Executive Secretary
(January 24, 1960-September 5, 1961)
Juan Pajo
Executive Secretary
(January 16, 1958-August 28, 1959)
Fortunato De Leon
Executive Secretary
(March 18, 1957-December 30, 1957)

The tradition of issuing Memorandum Circulars, defined in the Administrative Code of 1987 as “acts of the President on matters relating to internal administration,” began in 1958 during the term of President Garcia. President Garcia also began the tradition of issuing Memorandum Orders, defined in the Administrative Code of 1987 as “acts of the President on matters of administrative detail or of subordinate or temporary interest which only concern a particular officer or office of the Government.”

  • Executive Orders: 244-461 (total: 218)
  • Administrative Orders: 235-387(total: 153)
  • Memorandum Orders: 1-84 (total: 84)
  • Memorandum Circulars: 1-24; 1-13; 1-37 (total: 74)
  • Proclamations: 395-815 (total: 422)

  • Population: 22.68 million (1957)
  • Gross Domestic Product: P189,457 million (1957)
  • Gross Domestic Product: P224,430 million (1961)
  • GDP Growth Rate: 4.54% (1957-1961 average)
  • Income Per Capita: P8,353 (1957)
  • Income Per Capita: P7,927 (1961)
  • Total Exports: P35,980 million (1957)
  • Total Exports: P39,845 million (1961)
  • Unemployment Rate: 3.8% (1957)
  • Unemployment Rate: 7.5% (1961)
  • Peso-Dollar Exchange Rate: $1 = P2 (1957)
  • Peso-Dollar Exchange Rate: $1 = P2.64 (1961)

Source: National Statistical Coordination Board, National Accounts of the Philippines, National Statistics Office, Philippine Statistical Yearbook

This tab is currently under construction. Please check again soon.

  • Republic Acts:

These infographics were published as part of the Philippine Electoral Almanac, a compendium and handy resource of Philippine national elections from 1935 onwards, by the Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office.

1957 Presidential Elections

President Carlos P. Garcia ascended to the Presidency on March 18, 1957 following the untimely death of President Magsaysay, only a few months before Magsaysay’s expected re-election. Garcia had secured the nomination of the Nacionalista Party. Senator Claro M. Recto had bolted the NP to run for President under the Nationalist Citizens’ Party. Other Magsaysay supporters established the Progressive Party of the Philippines and endorsed Manuel Manahan for President. The Liberal Party, for its part, fielded former Speaker Jose Yulo for President. In a repeat of their 1953 encounter, Garcia trounced his main opponent Yulo, bested Recto and Manahan, and won the Presidency in his own right.

1957 Vice Presidential Elections

1957 Legislative Elections

1959 Legislative Elections

1961 Presidential Elections

1961 Vice Presidential Elections

1961 Legislative Elections